News Politics

Senate confirms eight new Supreme Court Justices

Ahmed Lawan, Senate President
The Senate on Tuesday confirmed eight new Justices for the Supreme Court.
They are Justices Lawal Garba, North West; Helen Ogunwumiju, South West; Abdu Aboki, North West; I. M. M. Saulawa, North West; Adamu Jauro, North East; Samuel Oseji, South South; Tijjani Abubakar, North East; and Emmanuel A. Agim, South South.
The confirmation followed the submission of screening report by the Chairman of the Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, Opeyemi Bamidele ( APC Ekiti Central) after consideration by the Senate Committee of WholePresident Muhammadu Buhari had written the senate for the confirmation of the Justices of the Court of Appeal for elevation to the Supreme Court.
The Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, congratulated the nominees and asked them to sustain their good public record.
He also advocated better funding for the judiciary in order to be able to discharge their responsibilities very well.
“It is the duty of the government including us (National Assembly) to provide improved funding for the judiciary.”

See also  President Buhari holds emergency security meeting with Osinbajo, service chiefs